Martin Niemoller Quote

As you know, in recent days the media has been talking about the principles of unions and their role as the chief counter to mega corporations. The republicans’ role as the foot soldiers for the corporations has finally been spotlighted by their attacks on unions. Attached to this message is a list of where Republican-controlled legislatures have gone after public employees’ right to join together for economic justice in the workplace. In the meantime, I saw the message below and think it is fitting for all of us to remember:

“On this day, it behooves us to remember the words of Martin Niemoller: ‘First they came for the communists,’ he wrote, ‘and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for me and there was no one left to speak out for me.’

I am a trade unionist, and yesterday in Wisconsin, they came for me. They came for you. They came for every working person in America, and their intent could not be more clear.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

